I Am Here!

10 Aug

I am here! Online world!

Being part of a online world can be a little scary sometimes! Honestly I am no longer scared of the green monster a.k.a the internet anymore, but I do get nervous using new technologies. Every now and then I hear something negative about it on the radio, television, and word of mouth. I use to be more fearful of going online that I wouldn’t use the public computers at the local library.  I kept thinking of all the negative things I would hear about using the internet such as you will gain weight, your eyesight will worsen, and someone out there will steal your identity. I missed out on learning how to use the internet entirely.

It wasn’t until my last year of high school that I finally decided to use a computer. My economic teacher at the time had assignment based online for the class to do. This assignment was the most difficult homework I ever had to do because I was computer illiterate. I remember entering the school library and feeling nervous about using the computer. All I could see were a few students typing away on the keyboard and searching thru the internet as if they had been doing this all of their lives. This caused me to feel lost because I didn’t know where the internet explore icon was on the desktop. I didn’t know much about computers at all! I just took my seat and stared at the computer for about six minutes until I asked the school librarian for help. After taking that first step, the school librarian not only taught me how to do a basic serach using the internet, but also showed me how to start up the computer. This was so crucial in understanding of using the internet that it took my fear away thanks to the school librarian!

During my undergrad years,  I’ve used the internet as a tool not only to do most of my school work, but socializing too! I have  different social network accounts to chat and email friends and family. I use my two internet accounts for updates on bills, banking, and receiving coupons. I am still learning the online world especially in my online class, but I am no longer fearful.

I can’t hide under a rock all my life and stay away from it.

One Response to “I Am Here!”

  1. Mr WordPress August 10, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

